Back on the Map: Revisiting the New York State Pavilion at the 1964/65 Worlds Fair

Between January 27 and May 4, 2008 an exhibition entitled "The Texaco Road Map Project" appeard at the Queens Museum of Art, displaying the Long Island tiles which had been removed for restoration and documenting the conservation process. The exhibit elaborated on project findings through text and images, and also gave visitors the opportunity to observe the conservation work from a uniquely close angle as conservators worked on the restoration within the museum's galleries.

From the Museum's website:

"The Texaco Road Map Project aims to inform and engage the public about the significance of this historic gem. A culmination of conservation activities by the City of New York Department of Parks & Recreation in collaboration with the University of Pennsylvania School of Design Graduate Program in Historic Preservation, the exhibition at the Queens Museum of Art will feature restored sections of the Road Map and elaborate the project findings through text panels and an interactive website. The Museum will also exhibit the process by allowing visitors to view the restoration from a uniquely close angle: they will have the opportunity to observe one of the conservators as they work on the restoration within the museum's galleries."

Located next door to the New York State Pavillion, the Queens Museum of Art is located in the New York City Building, originally constructed for the 1939 World's Fair and later temporary home of the United Nations General Assembly. The museum also houses the Panorama of the City of New York, commissioned for the 1964 Fair, and reportedly the largest architectural scale model in the world